All over the country,marijuana laws are changing. Many states in the U.S. have made medicinal marijuana legal. Other states have made the recreational use of marijuana legal. If you are living in Florida,it is essential that you understand the marijuana laws in Florida.
Medical MarijuanaIn Florida,people with a debilitating medical condition can receive a medical marijuana card making it legal for them to possess and use marijuana. There are a variety of conditions that would make you a good candidate. These include:
â ¢ Cancer
â ¢ Glaucoma
â ¢ Epilepsy
â ¢ PTSD
â ¢ HIV/AIDS
â ¢ ALS (Lou Gerig’s Disease)
â ¢ Parkinson’s Disease
â ¢ Multiple Sclerosis
â ¢ Crohn’s Disease
â ¢ Any other medical condition that your doctor deems debilitating
How Much Medical Marijuana Can a Patient Posses?
According to Florida law,patients are allowed to possess up to a 70-day supply of marijuana. They are also allowed to purchase only a 70-day supply at a time. In Florida,patients and their caregivers are not allowed to grow plants at home. They are only allowed to purchase their supply through a registered Medical Marijuana Treatment Center. If a patient is caught driving under the influence of marijuana,they can be arrested. Their card would not protect them against a conviction ( criminal lawyer ).
In Florida,using marijuana for recreational purposes is strictly forbidden. In fact,you can be arrested in the State of Florida if you are caught with it. The punishment that you would receive after being arrested would depend on the amount of marijuana you are caught with.
â ¢ Up to 20 Grams: If you have up to 20 grams of marijuana,it is a misdemeanor offense. This offense carries a fine of up to $1,000 and up to one year in jail.
â ¢ 20+ Grams to 25 Pounds: The punishment for this amount of marijuana is up to 5 years in jail. You can also be forced to pay a fine of up to $5,000.
â ¢ 25+ Pounds to 2,000 Pounds: This amount of marijuana can land you in jail for three to 15 years. You would also be required to pay a $25,000 fine.
â ¢ 2,000+ Pounds and Up: If you are caught with 2,000 pounds of marijuana or more,you can face up to 30 years in jail and a fine of up to $200,000.
It is illegal to grow marijuana plants. The amount of jail time you would receive would depend on the number of plants that you are growing. If you have less than 25 plants,you are looking at five years in jail. The maximum penalty for growing is up to 30 years in jail and a $50,000 fine.
If you live in Florida,you should know the fines associated with possessing marijuana. If you get into trouble,call a DUI penalties right away.